University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

ScholarWorks@UARK

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

9-18-2002

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting, September 18, 2002

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/faculty-senate-minutes

Citation

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. Faculty Senate. (2002). Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting, September 18, 2002. *Faculty Senate Minutes*. Retrieved from https://scholarworks.uark.edu/faculty-senate-minutes/35

This Periodical is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at ScholarWorks@UARK. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks@UARK. For more information, please contact scholar@uark.edu.

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting

September 18, 2002, 3:30 p.m. Linda Jones, Secretary

Engineering 209 Minutes Status: Approved

Present

Officers: Brewer, Jensen, Jones, Rogers

Senators (elected): Allison, Amason, Chappell, Curington, Dennis, Denny, Fort, Freund, Hanlin, Holyfield, Killenback, King, Kral, Lieber, MacRae, Martin, Miller, Murphy, Park, Riggs, Riha, Rom, Rupe, Ryan, Salisbury, Schmitt, Springer, Striffler, Taylor, Wailes, Wall, Wardlow, Wilson

Dennis Brewer, Chair

Senators (Admin): Geren, Greenwood, Smith, Williams

Absent

Senators (elected): Brady, Etges, Gay, Hall, Johnson, Lee, Nutter, Rosenkrans, Schroeder, Taylor, Warnock, Watkins

Senators (Admin): Allen, Bobbitt, Dutton, Moberly, Schmitt, Shannon, Weidemann, White

I. Call to Order:

Dennis Brewer called the meeting to order at 3:34. Dennis introduced the new officers and mentioned that the chocolate provided was in honor of Wally Cordes, a former Chair of the Faculty Senate. Dennis, as well as all present, wish him a swift recovery and return to the university.

II. Approval of the Agenda

A request was made to include a Report on the Resolution of the Extension of Tenure to Other Campuses. This request was approved.

No other requests were made and without objection the agenda was adopted as amended.

III. Minutes of the May 8, 2002 Meeting

Other than adjusting the date for the May 8th, 2002 minutes, without objection, these minutes were approved.

IV. Report

Election Committee:

Todd Hanlin reported that the campus elections are now complete and announced the results of the elections for Chair of Campus Faculty, At Large members of the Faculty Senate, and the Committee on Appointment, Promotion and Tenure. (See report at: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/

Resolution on Extension of Tenure to other Campuses:

Dennis Brewer reported that the adoption of tenure for all faculty on all campuses was sent up the ranks to the Board of Trustees. The proposal was heard at their June meeting and was placed on their agenda as an information item. President Sugg did communicate the resolution in its entirety to the Board and there was no discussion.

It was suggested that if members want to take continuing action, they are invited to bring the issue to the Executive Committee for formulation prior to bringing it to the Faculty Senate.

V. Old Business - none

VI. New Business

A. Consent Agenda - 10 items were presented by the Graduate Council for approval. (See the on-line September 18th Agenda for the individual items: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/2002to2003/agenda91802.html)

Consent agenda adopted by unanimous consent.

B. Recommendation from the Faculty Senate Executive Committee to amend the voting committee membership of the University (not Undergraduate) Course and Programs Committee by deleting "to be chosen from the voting membership of the Faculty Senate."

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting

It was moved and seconded to delete the wording from the description of membership on the University Course and Programs Committee.

Motion passed.

C. Recommendation from the Faculty Senate Executive Committee to amend the voting committee membership of the University Program Review by deleting "a voting member of the Faculty Senate and."

It was moved and seconded to delete the wording from the description of membership on the University Program Review Committee.

Motion passed.

D. Election of Senators to Faculty Senate Executive Committee (5)

The following individuals were elected to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee:

Neil Allison Timothy Kral Inza Fort Phillip Taylor John King

E. Election of Senators to Campus Council (16)

The following individuals were elected to the Campus Council

Neil Allison

William Etges

William Etges

Terry Martin

Cheryl Murphy

Luti Salisbury

Phillip Taylor

Todd Hanlin

Lori Holyfield

John King

John King Timothy Kral

VII. Announcements -

The next meeting of the Faculty Senate is October 16, 2002. As of today's meeting, two reports will be given: 1) Graham Gillis from Fringe Benefits; 2) Arlene Cash from Admissions.

The agenda deadline for the next meeting of the Faculty Senate is October 4, 2002.

All are invited to attend the Executive Committee Meetings if they wish to do so. The next meeting of the Executive Committee is October 9, 2002.

The Board of Trustees meets on September 19, 2002 at UALR. All are welcome to attend.

VIII. Adjourn.

Meeting adjourned at 4:02.