University of Arkansas, Fayetteville ScholarWorks@UARK

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

5-6-2009

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting, May 6, 2009

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/faculty-senate-minutes

Citation

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. Faculty Senate. (2009). Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting, May 6, 2009. *Faculty Senate Minutes*. Retrieved from https://scholarworks.uark.edu/faculty-senate-minutes/87

This Periodical is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at ScholarWorks@UARK. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks@UARK. For more information, please contact scholar@uark.edu.

FS Agenda

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting May 6, 2009, 3:30 p.m. ENGR 209 Inza Fort, Chair Linda Jones, Secretary Minutes Status: **Tentative**

Roll Call:

Present

Officers: Fort, Freund, Brady, Allison, Jones, Rupe

Senators (elected): (ARCH) Wall; (ALFS) Rosenkrans, Miller, Rom, Ahrendsen, Savin; (ARSC) Comfort, Parry, DeCoster, Scheide, Spiegel, Freund, Brady, Kral, Rhoads; (WCOB) Bouwman, Ellstrand; (EDHP) Hagstrom, Dibrezzo, Smith; (ENGR) Hall, Heymsfield; (LAW) Killenbeck; (LIBR) Zou; (At-Large) Curington, Goodstein, James, Gay, Murphy, Riggs, Turner, Salisbury, Martin, T. Jensen.

Senators (admin): McMath, Greenwood, Saxena, Geren, Lewis.

Absent

Officers:

Senators (elected): (ARCH); (AFLS) Evans; (ARSC) Behrend, Turner, Yang, Van Brahana; (WCOB) Hardgrave; (EDHP) Stegman; (ENGR) Deaton; (LIBR); (At-Large) M. Jensen, Robinson, Starks

Senators (admin): Gearhart, Verma, Shannon, Schwab, Worrell, Beene Ballard, Nance, Henderson Allen, McCray.

I. Call to Order: Inza Fort, Chair

Meeting was called to order at 3:30

II. Roll Call

Roll was called

III. Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved.

IV. Approval of minutes from April 8, 2009.

<u>April 8, 2009</u>

The minutes were approved.

V. Reports

A. Senate Chair Inza Fort - The Chair reported on the following:

- David Gay, Ro DiBrezzo and Lori Holyfield will work with Provost Gaber on student evaluations.
- Ro DiBrezzo has been elected as Chair of the Faculty, Joel Freund will serve as Vice Chair.
- It is important to stay engaged with Faculty Governance. Our Administration does support us.
- Athletics has given the University one million dollars for academics. Jeff Long will give a report to the Faculty Senate in the Spring.

B. Provost Sharon Gaber - The Provost reported on the following:

- Thank you to Bob McMath for his service as Interim Provost
- Charles Robinson has been named Vice Provost of Diversity
- Suzanne McCray is now Vice Provost of Enrollment Management
- A Task Force of Distance Education has been established.
- Provost Gaber's email address is: sgaber@uark.edu

FS Agenda

None

VII. New Business

A. Modified Final Exam Policy

Attached modified policy

Modified Final Exam Policy approved

B. Recommended changes from the GECCC General Education Core Curriculum Committee

Memo from Provost McMath

Attachment A

Attachment B

Attachment C

Attachment D

Attachment E

Attachment F

Attachment G

Attachment H

Attachment I

Motion to remove items A and F passed. Motion to approve A and F for catalogue copy passed.

Attachments B-E, G & H are assessment plans. Motion to accept passed.

Motion to accept the report as a work in progress toward developing assessment procedures for the core passed.

C. Consent Agenda

The following items are referred to the Faculty Senate for review and action:

1. Undergraduate credit course change proposals approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on April 24, 2009: <u>Table A</u>.

2. Graduate credit course change proposals approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on March 27, 2009 and the Graduate Council on April 16, 2009: <u>Table B</u>.

3. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences – All Majors – Fulbright Core (<u>Table 1</u>, <u>Attachment 1A</u>) was approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on April 24, 2009.

4. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences – All Majors – University State Core (<u>Table 1</u>, <u>Attachment 1B</u>) was approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on April 24, 2009.

5. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences – Department of Economics – ECNCBA – BA, Economics (<u>Table 1</u>, <u>Attachment 1C</u>) was approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on April 24, 2009.

6. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences – Department of History – HISTBA – BA, History (<u>Table 1</u>, <u>Attachment 1D</u>) was approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on April 24, 2009.

7. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences – International Relations Program – IRELBA – BA, International Relations (<u>Table 1</u>, <u>Attachment 1E</u>) was approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on April 24, 2009.

8. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences – Department of Journalism –

JOURBA – BA, Journalism (Table 1, Attachment 1F) was approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on April 24, 2009.

9. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences – Department of Music – All BA and BM Majors (<u>Table 1</u>, <u>Attachment 1G</u>) was approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on April 24, 2009.

10. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences – Department of Music – MUSC-M – Minor in Music (<u>Table 1</u>, <u>Attachment 1H</u>) was approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on April 24, 2009.

11. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences – Russian Studies Program – RSST – Second or dependent major (Table 1, Attachment 1I and Attachment 1J) was approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on April 24, 2009.

12. Proposed graduate program change for the Department of Business Administration – ACCTPH – PhD, Business Administration – Accounting Concentration (<u>Table 2</u>, <u>Attachment 2A</u>) was approved without opposition by the Graduate Council on April 16, 2009.

13. Proposed graduate program change for the Department of Business Administration – ISYSPH– PhD, Business Administration – Information Systems Concentration (<u>Table 2</u>, <u>Attachment 2B</u>) was approved without opposition by the Graduate Council on April 16, 2009.

14. Proposed graduate program change for the Department of Business Administration – MGMTPH – PhD, Business Administration – Management Concentration (<u>Table 2</u>, <u>Attachment 2C</u>) was approved without opposition by the Graduate Council on April 16, 2009.

15. Proposed graduate program change for the Department of Accounting – ACCTMA – MACC, Accounting (<u>Table 2</u>, <u>Attachment 2D</u>) was approved without opposition by the Graduate Council on April 16, 2009.

Approved.

VIII. Announcements

The bowl of chocolates for Faculty Senate was passed to Neil Allison, Chair of the Faculty Senate for 2009-2010.

IX. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 4:10.