University of Arkansas, Fayetteville ScholarWorks@UARK

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

9-14-2016

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting, September 14, 2016

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/faculty-senate-minutes

Citation

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. Faculty Senate. (2016). Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting, September 14, 2016. *Faculty Senate Minutes*. Retrieved from https://scholarworks.uark.edu/faculty-senate-minutes/152

This Periodical is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at ScholarWorks@UARK. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks@UARK. For more information, please contact scholar@uark.edu.

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting
September 14, 3:30 p.m.
ENGR 209

John Pijanowski, Chair Linda Jones, Secretary Minutes Status:**Approved**

Roll Call

Present

Officers: Pijanowski, Jones, Brady, Allison, Hagstrom

Senators (elected): (ARCH) Jacobus; (ALFS) Tzanetakis, Ahrendsen, Hettiarachchy, Edgar; (ARSC) Freund, Gigantino, Lee, Scheide, Christiansen, Spiegel, Bell, Kerr, Brewer, Landman, Quinn, White; (WCOB) Peters, Sabherwal, Esper; (EDHP) Havel, Brady, Higgins, Lusk; (ENGR) Selvam, Rossetti, Chimka; (LAW) Beard; (LIBR) Lehman; (At-Large) Whayne, Gay, Dennis, Kral, Salisbury, Korth, Gray, Allison, Johnson, Sebold.

Senators (admin): Martin, McCray, Van Laningham, Judges, Needy, Robertson, Miller, Leeds, Coon.

Absent:

Officers: Hall

Senators (elected): (ARCH); (AFLS) Shoulders; (ARSC) Bradley-Engen, Comfort, Allen, Barabote, Lampinen; (WCOB) Kali; (EDHP); (ENGR) Hall; (LAW) ; (LIBR) ; (At-Large) Murphy, Jensen.

Senators (admin): Steinmetz, Saxena, DiBrezzo, Rankin, Robinson, MacKeith, Shields, Waller, English, Henderson Allen, Harwood-Rom, Cromer, Fagg

++++++

I. Call to Order: John Pijanowski

Meeting called to order at 3:33.

II. Roll Call

Roll called!

III. Approval of Agenda

Meeting amended to include an executive session; item B has been moved to Executive Session. Amended agenda approved.

IV. Approval of Minutes from May 4, 2016

Minutes approved

V. Reports

A. Chair, John Pijanowski

- The Chair has been holding conversations with regards orientation for the Senate; he would like to share with Senators how we do business in the Senate. We need to be thoughtful of how we share information with our constituents. How do we communicate back to our colleges? How can we move their communication back to us?
- Executive Committee has been working very hard; moving information through efficiently and quickly.
- VI. Old Business

None

VII. New Business

A. University Calendar Committee

Calendar Proposal

Final Exams

The two items were presented to the Faculty Senate. These items will be voted on during the October meeting.

B. Consent Agenda: The following items are referred by the University Course and Programs Committee and/or the Graduate Council for review and action by the Faculty Senate at its meeting scheduled September 14, 2016:

1. Course Change proposals – including undergraduate and graduate classes approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on April 22 and August 5, 2016 and the Graduate Council on June 16, 2016 and August 18, 2016: (PDF Report).

2. Undergraduate Program Change Proposals approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on August 5, 2016: (PDF Report).

- a. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food, and Life Sciences, Department of Agricultural Education, Communication and Technology–AECTBS-AGLE, Agricultural Education, Communication & Technology- Agricultural Leadership Concentration, Bachelor of Science in Agricultural, Food & Life Sciences (2a_AECT-AGLE Report, 2a_AECT-AGLE – New Option – Ltr of Notification, 2a_AECTBS-AGLE 17-18 Checksheet—Final Revision, 2a_AECT – AGLE 9 SDCP 17-18 final).
- b. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design, Department of Architecture-ARCHBA, Architecture, Bachelor of Architecture (<u>2b_ARCHBA Report</u>).
- c. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design, Department of Interior Design-IDESBD, Interior Design, Bachelor of Interior Design (<u>2c_IDESBD Report</u>).
- d. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Art-ARHS-M, Art History Minor (<u>2d_ARHS-M</u> <u>Report</u>).
- e. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Arts and Sciences Dean- ARSC Acad Regs, ARSC College Academic Regulations (<u>2e_ARSC Acad Regs Report</u>).
- f. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, Department of English- ENJOBA, English/Journalism, Bachelor of Arts <u>2f_ENJOBA Report</u>.
- g. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Journalism-JOPLBA-NEWS, Journalism/Political Science News-Editorial Concentration, Bachelor of Arts (<u>2g_JOPLBA-</u><u>NEWS Report</u>).
- h. Proposed undergraduate program change for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Journalism- JOUR Dept Honors, Journalism Departmental Honors (2h JOUR Dept Honors Report).
- 3. Announcements

a. Retroactive Graduate Credit - The Graduate Council voted to allow up to six hours to count for both an undergraduate degree and a graduate certificate. All requirements of retroactive graduate credit will apply and we will use a transcript notation that says that the courses may not be used to fulfill requirements for a graduate degree.

Consent Agenda approved.

Chancellor Investiture: Thursday, October 20th, 2:00 p.m., Faulkner Performing Arts Center.

IX. Executive Session

A. Elections of Campus Council Members (16) and Executive Committee Members (5)

The following individuals were elected to the Executive Committee: Cheryl Murphy, Jeannie Whayne, Jim Gigantino, Kathleen Lehman, and Dennis Brewer.

The following individuals were elected to the Campus Council: Cheryl Murphy, Jeannie Whayne, David Gay, Norm Dennis, Tim Kral, Neil Allison, Donald Johnson, Kate Shoulders, Don Edgar, James Gigantino, Richard Lee, Hope Christiansen, Fred Spiegel, Kathy Comfort, Dennis Brewer, Calvin White.

B. Honorary Degrees

X. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 5:00.