University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

ScholarWorks@UARK

Staff Senate Meeting Minutes

Staff Senate

2019-09-12

Minutes Staff Senate Meeting, September 12, 2019

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. Staff Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/staff-senate-minutes

Citation

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. Staff Senate. (2019). Minutes Staff Senate Meeting, September 12, 2019. *Staff Senate Meeting Minutes*. Retrieved from https://scholarworks.uark.edu/staff-senate-minutes/188

This Periodical is brought to you for free and open access by the Staff Senate at ScholarWorks@UARK. It has been accepted for inclusion in Staff Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks@UARK. For more information, please contact scholar@uark.edu.

Staff Senate Meeting Minutes

09/12/2019

Arkansas Union 512

- I. The meeting was called to order by chair, Trish Watkins, at 9:31 AM
- II. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adopt the agenda
- III. Special Guest Speaker Chris Butler
 - a. WorkDay implementation is now near the testing phase for cohort one
 - b. Will streamline and connect all University of Arkansas system schools
 - c. Questions can be directed to workday@uark.edu, or more information can be found at workday.uark.edu and projectone.uasys.edu
- IV. Roll Call Elon Turner
- V. Campus Updates
 - a. Human Resources Updates Debbie McLoud
 - i. Employee Awards Banquet will be held on October 8th
 - 1. Formal invitations have been sent
 - ii. Employees are urged to check their immunization records and to get immunized if necessary due to the measles outbreak in the United States
 - iii. TIAA contract with the University is changing from individual to group
 - 1. Easier to manage
 - 2. Only will see a change of contract number for some members
 - 3. Employees that are vested are still vested, no rate or plan change
 - b. Parking and Transit Updates Gary Smith
 - i. Best start of school for the campus yet
 - ii. Lot 46 off Leroy Pond is now open and available
 - iii. Bus stop between the Administration building and Silas Hunt Hall
 - 1. On bus routes 11 and 48
 - iv. PassioGo.com or Passio GO! app is best way to check for bus routes and real time information
 - v. Parking and Transit working on policies regarding auxiliary vehicles on campus
 - vi. Added 48 more spaces in the North campus
 - vii. Lot 26 has the same number of spaces this year
- VI. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to approve Staff Senate August meeting minutes
- VII. Committee Reports
 - a. Employee of the Quarter/Employee of the Year Travis Hefley
 - i. Employee of the First Quarter nominations are open
 - 1. Deadline is October 15th
 - b. Special Events Michael Rau
 - i. October 7th 11th is Staff Appreciation Week
 - 1. Ice cream social in the Union on October 11th
 - 2. More information will be posted in Newswire
 - ii. The Staff Picnic will be on Friday, May 15th, 2020 at Reynolds Razorback Stadium

VIII. Around the Senate

- a. Special thanks to Clayton Hamilton for free tickets to staff for the first Razorback Football game
 - i. Over 1,600 tickets were requested
- b. A ground-breaking ceremony at the Student Success Center took place this morning
- c. Hispanic Heritage month celebrations will begin on Sunday, September 14th with soccer at 12:00 pm in the soccer field
 - i. First 150 people will receive scarves
 - ii. Food, music, and activities will be available
- d. The sustainability council is having a company come into assess buildings to try and make them more energy efficient
- e. Donations for the Bahamas in the wake of the hurricane are being accepted in the International Student office in Holcomb Hall, room 104
- IX. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adjourn at 10:23 AM

Senators in Attendance:

Raymond Anders

Ana Isabel Ayala Barker

Denise Bignar

Alex Booth

Collin Reed Caley

Roy Cordell

Michela Cupello

EmmaLe Davis

Katie Doughty

Trisha DuCote

Danielle Dunn

Matthew Fey

Rachel Gray

Cecilia Grossberger-Medina

Clayton Hamilton

Travis Hefley

Evan Hinchliffe

Daniela Kidd

Joe Loy

Madelyn Jones

Matthew Meyers

Cedar Middleton

Devyn Moore

Cindy Morley

Theresa Parrish

Allen Porter

Michael Rau

Stephen Ritterbush Elon Turner Quincy Ward Trish Watkins Kelly Westeen Colleen Whitman Debbie McLoud Katherine Roland

Senators Absent:

Erin Butler Derrick Hartberger Autumn Parker Toya Williams