University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

ScholarWorks@UARK

Staff Senate Meeting Minutes

Staff Senate

2021-06-10

Minutes Staff Senate Meeting, June 10, 2021

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. Staff Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/staff-senate-minutes

Citation

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. Staff Senate. (2021). Minutes Staff Senate Meeting, June 10, 2021. Staff Senate Meeting Minutes. Retrieved from https://scholarworks.uark.edu/staff-senate-minutes/210

This Periodical is brought to you for free and open access by the Staff Senate at ScholarWorks@UARK. It has been accepted for inclusion in Staff Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks@UARK. For more information, please contact scholar@uark.edu.

Staff Senate Meeting Minutes 6/10/2021

- I. The meeting was called to order by chair, Trish Watkins, at 9:35 am
- II. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adopt the agenda
- III. Roll call
- IV. Campus Updates
 - a) Human Resources Updates Debbie McLoud
 - a. Comms about staff salary increases have gone out; 1.5% pool for nonclass to be distributed based on merit and performance, 1.5% COLA for classified.
 - b. UAF classified staff pay plan to start addressing compression issues has been implemented. This continues to be a work in progress.
 - c. We can start counting on insurance premium increases every July. We had a base increase of 4% this year, but individual increases depend on our salary range, what plan we select, and other factors. The Premium Plan had a 12% increase.
 - d. July 1 also marks the last step in the mandatory retirement contribution increase, to a total of 5%.
 - e. There were also some positions that moved from classified to nonclassified, specifically IT, public safety, and skilled trades, to make them more competitive with the private sector and aid in retention of employees.
 - f. The BOT also modified our leave policy, specifically for non-classified positions that are eligible for overtime, so that they would earn leave based on the classified staff leave schedule.
 - b) Parking and Transit Gary Smith
 - a. LPR scanning will start in a couple of weeks.
 - b. Virtual permits will be valid from August 1 to July 31 moving forward.
 - c. Not purchasing stickers and mailing them will save about \$70,000 per vear
 - d. Handicap permits will be handled the same way.
 - e. LPR will also allow the purchase of 1-day temporary permits for remote employees.
 - f. West Avenue Annex may need special permits.
 - g. Permits went up about 2% this year.
 - h. Employees can register up to 4 different license plates.
- V. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to approve the Staff Senate May minutes VI. Committee Reports
 - a) Elections We had one nominee for each position: Trish Watkins for Chair, EmmaLe Davis for Vice-Chair, Travis Hefley for Treasurer, and Roy Cordell for Secretary. A motion to elect by acclimation was made and seconded, motion passed.
 - b) Special Events We had a really good response to the staff picnic, and a lot of happy staff. Make sure you have the retreat on your calendar for July 8.
- VII. Chair's Report Trish Watkins
 - a) We feel that we'll start seeing domestic travel to start picking up in the coming months.

- b) Enrollment looks like it could pass 28,000 this fall.
- c) Student vaccinations are looking good, could be as much as 75% by the time school starts.
- d) Thank you to all the departing senators: Clayton Hamilton, Colleen Whitman, Devyn Moore, Madelyn Jones
- e) We're excited to start going back to face to face, and returning to campus.

VIII. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adjourn at 10:25 am

<u>Senators in attendance</u>: Autumn Parker, Ben Polluck, Betsy Bushmiaer, Cecilia Grossberger-Medina, Cindy Ryan, Colleen Whitman, Danielle Dunn, Debbie Ritter, Derrick Hartberger, Devyn Moore, EmmaLe Davis, Erin Butler, Joe Loy, Kelly Westeen, Matthew Myers, Matthew Fey, Michela Cupello, Rachel Gray, Raymond Anders, Rocio Rosas, Stephen Ritterbush, Theresa Parrish, Trish Watkins, Debbie McLoud (XO), Katherine Roland (XO)

<u>Senators not in attendance</u>: Allen Porter, Amber Roth, Clayton Hamilton, Denise Bignar, Jeremy McAtee, Madelyn Jones, Roy Cordell, Travis Hefley