University of Arkansas, Fayetteville ScholarWorks@UARK

Staff Senate Meeting Minutes

Staff Senate

2021-12-09

## Minutes Staff Senate Meeting, December 9, 2021

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. Staff Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/staff-senate-minutes

## Citation

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. Staff Senate. (2021). Minutes Staff Senate Meeting, December 9, 2021. *Staff Senate Meeting Minutes*. Retrieved from https://scholarworks.uark.edu/staff-senate-minutes/ 215

This Periodical is brought to you for free and open access by the Staff Senate at ScholarWorks@UARK. It has been accepted for inclusion in Staff Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks@UARK. For more information, please contact scholar@uark.edu.

## 12/09/2021

- ✤ The meeting was called to order by Trish Watkins
- \* A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adopt the agenda
- ✤ Roll Call by EmmaLe
- Campus Updates
  - a) Eunice Alberson for Debbie McLoud with HR Updates
    - *i.* Holiday Leave- all holiday leave will be automatically uploaded into workday.
    - ii. Recommended to enter 1-day annual leave for 12/30, if you qualify for employee birthday leave it will be uploaded for you.
    - iii. Instructions to come shortly for nonexempt employees who are allowed to work overtime during the Christmas break.
    - iv. Questions concerning inclement weather policy.
    - v. Policy is in process of being reviewed, more to come.
    - vi. Monday January 3<sup>rd</sup> will still be a working Day.
  - b) Michela Cupello reporting in place of Gary Smith
    - *i.* Reynolds Razorback Stadium is to be used for one concert during spring semester.
    - *ii. Parking lot must be cleared and traffic controlled as the same for home football games.*
    - *iii. The office for sustainability met with the campus council to continue conversations about improving the E scooters operations on campus*
  - c) A motion to approve November minutes was made second and passed.
  - d) Trish Watkins with Committee Reports
    - i. Jeremy McAtee has resigned from staff senate.
    - ii. Tony Boyd to take Jeremy's seat as new senator.
    - iii. Michela as new chair for parking Transit safety.
    - iv. Theresa Parrish to chair Awards
  - e) Travis Hefley with Treasurers report
    - i. Nothing much has changed from last month

- *ii. Executive will be meeting in the upcoming weeks to go over budget*
- iii. And disbursements to be discussed in January meeting.
- f) Myrlinda Soedjede with employee awards
  - i. Category 1:
    - 1. Professional non-Faculty Academic- Robin Roggio (senior library system)
    - 2. Professional non-Faculty- Aaron Mahan (Public Safety member)
  - ii. Category 2:
    - 1. Secretary Clerical Melinda Adams (measuring specialist)
  - iii. Category 3:
    - 1. *Technical for stair professional* David Siegel (Computer support manager and Walton.
  - iv. Category 4:
    - 1. Skilled service maintenance was Michelle Williams (public safety officer)
  - v. Erin with professional development.
    - 1. November 16 was our learning and development fair in Union 509 we had 17 attendees.
    - 2. Internal affair Committee scheduled to meet up talk about conducting such events in the spring.
    - 3. News article mentioned to be sent out per departments requesting feedback
  - vi. Kelly Westeen with scholarship and Razorgifts
    - *1.* 2 of 4 applicants was approved for scholarship
    - 2. 12/10/21 is deadline to receive gifts
    - *3.* Due to delayed shipping digital amazon gift cards are welcome for any purchases
    - 4. Gift card can be sent to staff senate email address (ssenate@uark.edu).
  - vii. Trish with New business
    - 1. Senate Updates
      - b. Newsletter listservs to be used, a link will be nest via newswire

- c. Discussion to provide instructions for signups
- 2. Child Care Assistance Exploration Committee (ad hoc committee)
- 3. Staff seeking childcare on campus
- viii. Mrylinda with Childcare committee
  - 1. Formed to assist lower paid employees with childcare
  - 2. Seeking committee members
  - *ix.* Group discussion to review work from home policy to compete with other institutions.
  - *x.* A motion was made to adjourn meeting second and passed at 10:48.

## Senators in attendance:

Aaron	Abbott
Wayne	Bell
Denise	Bignar
Jen	Boyer
Betsy	Bushmiaer
Erin	Butler
Michela	Cupello
EmmaLe	Davis
Tracy	Deffebaugh
Danielle	Dunn
Matthew	Fey
Rachel	Gray
Cecilia	Grossberger-Medina
Derrick	Hartberger
Travis	Hefley
Joe	Loy
Tony	Boyd
Matthew	Meyers
Elizabeth	Miller
Chantel	Moseby
Autumn	Parker
Theresa	Parrish
Ben	Pollock

Allen	Porter
Stephen	Ritterbush
Amber	Roth
Cindy	Ryan
Amy	Shell
Myrlinda	Soedjede
Trish	Watkins
Kelly	Westeen
Senators absent:	
Raymond	Anders
Roy	Cordell