Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science

Volume 27 Article 4

1973

57th Annual Meeting, 1973. Program

Academy Editors

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas

Recommended Citation

Editors, Academy (1973) "57th Annual Meeting, 1973. Program," *Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science*: Vol. 27, Article 4.

Available at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas/vol27/iss1/4

This article is available for use under the Creative Commons license: Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-ND 4.0). Users are able to read, download, copy, print, distribute, search, link to the full texts of these articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without asking prior permission from the publisher or the author. This Arkansas Academy Annual Meeting report is brought to you for free and open access by ScholarWorks@UARK. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science by an authorized editor of ScholarWorks@UARK. For more information, please contact scholar@uark.edu, uarepos@uark.edu.

institution, Arkansas State University, for providing such pleasant facilities for the 1973 meeting and to the following people for their help in making the 57th Annual Meeting an outstanding success and enjoyable occasion: The Arrangements Committee at Arkansas State University, all Section Chairmen, and commercial exhibitors; Edward L. Richards, Program Chairman; William W. Bryd, Assistant Program Chairman; Paul Raines, Director of the Junior Academy of Science; Mrs. Willie B. Johnson, Director of the Collegiate Academy of Science; Dr. Eugene B. Wittlake, Director of the Junior Science and Humanities Symposium; and Robert O. Saunders, President of the Arkansas Science Fair Association.

The Academy also wishes to recognize Dr. E.B. Wittlake, President of the Academy, Dr. William C. Guest, Secretary, Dr. William L. Evans, Treasurer, and Dr. James L. Wickliff, Editor, for the excellent manner in which they have discharged the duties of their respective offices during the past year.

President Wittlake asked for a report from the Audit Committee. Dr. McCarty reported that the Committee had examined the books and financial records of the Treasurer and had found them to be in good order. The report of the Audit Committee was accepted.

Dr. Wittlake made a brief statement about his term as President and about the future of the Academy. He introduced the President-Elect, Dr. Clark McCarty, and passed the gavel to him. Dr. McCarty appointed a Nominating Committee of Dr. L.C. Howick, Chairman, Dr. Joe Guenter, and Dr. Neal Buffaloe to report at the next meeting.

President McCarty adjourned the 57th business meeting at 12 noon.

Respectfully submitted.

William C. Guest, Secretary

PROGRAM Arkansas Academy of Science

Fifty-Seventh Annual Meeting

ARKANSAS STATE UNIVERSITY Jonesboro

Meeting concurrently with sessions of the:

The Arkansas Science and Technology Council

The Collegiate Academy of Science

The Junior Academy of Science

The Arkansas Council of Teachers of Mathematics

The Northeast Arkansas Council of Teachers of Mathematics

Arkansas State Science Fair

Friday, 6 April

SENIOR, COLLEGIATE, JUNIOR ACADEMIES -- Registration

ARKANSAS STATE SCIENCE FAIR -- Registration

SENIOR ACADEMY -- Papers (Mathematics)

COLLEGIATE ACADEMY -- Executive Committee

SENIOR ACADEMY -- Executive Committee

ARKANSAS SCIENCE TEACHERS ASSOCIATION
--Business Meeting

JUNIOR ACADEMY -- Campus Tours

COLLEGIATE ACADEMY -- Papers (Biological Science)

SENIOR ACADEMY -- Business Meeting

IUNIOR ACADEMY -- Business Meeting

ARKANSAS STATE SCIENCE FAIR -- Judging

SENIOR ACADEMY -- Papers (Mathematics)

JUNIOR ACADEMY -- Papers

JUNIOR ACADEMY -- Executive Committee

COLLEGIATE AND SENIOR ACADEMIES -- Panel
Discussion: Environmental Problems in Arkansas

SENIOR, COLLEGIATE, JUNIOR ACADEMIES -- Banquet Speaker: Dr. M. F. Cranmer, Jr. "Recent Advances in Toxicology" Awards Presentation Saturday, 7 April

COLLEGIATE ACADEMY -- Business Meeting ARKANSAS STATE SCIENCE FAIR -- Public Viewing SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY COUNCIL -- Meeting

COLLEGIATE ACADEMY -- Papers (Physical Science & Mathematics)

Lecture-Forum: Dr. O. H.
Zinke "Energy Crisis"

SENIOR ACADEMY -- Papers (Concurrent Sessions)

SENIOR ACADEMY -- Business Meeting

COLLEGIATE ACADEMY -- Luncheon Awards Presentation

Panel Discussion: ENVIRONMENTAL PROBLEMS IN ARKANSAS

Chairman: Dr. Joe F. Nix, Department of Chemistry, Ouachita Baptist University, Arkadelphia, Arkansas 71923

ENVIRONMENTAL SURVEYS

Dr. Edward E. Dale, Jr., Department of Botany and Bacteriology, University of Arkansas

LANDFILL FOR SOLID WASTE DISPOSAL

S. Eugene Gardner, Director of Public Works, City of Jonesboro

FARM POLLUTION PROBLEMS

Dr. Roy Grizzel, State Biologist, U.S. Soil Conservation Service

ENFORCEMENT OF ARKANSAS POLLUTION LAWS Roger Morris, Information Director, Arkansas Pollution Control Commission

CONSERVING WILDERNESS SITES

Dr. Joe F. Nix, Department of Chemistry, Ouachita Baptist University

ARKANSAS SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY COUNCIL

Chairman: Robbin C. Anderson, Dean, Arts and Sciences College, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Arkansas 72701

DR. JAMES O. WEAR Central Instruments Program Veterans Administration Hospital Little Rock, Arkansas

MR. WILLIAM SHEPHERD Vice President, Retired Arkansas Power and Light Company Little Rock, Arkansas

DR. M. L. LAWSON* Chairman, Science Department Harding College Searcy, Arkansas MR. ROGER CHAMBERLAIN Plant Manager Dow Chemical Company Magnolia, Arkansas

MR. HAROLD R. MUENZMAIER General Manager, Reinforced Plastics Dept. A. D. Smith Company Little Rock, Arkansas

MR. ARMAND DE LAURELL Acting Director, Arkansas Dept. of Planning Capitol Building Little Rock, Arkansas

> MR. GLEN ACHORN Chief, Biological Laboratory Pine Bluff Arsenal Pine Bluff, Arkansas

DR. WILLIAM SOHL Research Associate Graduate School University of Arkansas

MR. JOHN REID Vice President for Research Baldwin Electronic Company Little Rock, Arkansas

MR. ROBERT KIRKWOOD* Professor of Biology State College of Arkansas Conway, Arkansas

5

^{*}Past President, Arkansas Academy of Science.