# Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science

Volume 19 Article 3

1965

# 49th Annual Meeting, 1965. Secretary's Report

**Academy Editors** 

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas

### **Recommended Citation**

Editors, Academy (1965) "49th Annual Meeting, 1965. Secretary's Report," *Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science*: Vol. 19, Article 3.

Available at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas/vol19/iss1/3

This article is available for use under the Creative Commons license: Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-ND 4.0). Users are able to read, download, copy, print, distribute, search, link to the full texts of these articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without asking prior permission from the publisher or the author. This Arkansas Academy Annual Meeting report is brought to you for free and open access by ScholarWorks@UARK. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science by an authorized editor of ScholarWorks@UARK. For more information, please contact scholar@uark.edu, uarepos@uark.edu.

Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science, Vol. 19 [1965], Art. 3 AKAP

V. 19 Arkansas Academy of Science Proceedings, Vol. 19, 1965

Cop. 1

### ARKANSAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

## Forty-ninth Annual Meeting University of Arkansas April 2-3, 1965

#### **OFFICERS**

President	Dr. Lowell F. Bailey
President-elect	Dr. James H. Fribourgh
Secretary	Dr. George E. Templeton
Treasurer	Dr. Edward E. Dale

#### SECRETARY'S REPORT

The first business meeting was called to order by President Bailey at 10:45 a.m. with 55 members in attendance. The members were welcomed to the campus of the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville by President Bailey.

As the Secretary's Report was already published in the Proceedings, reading of the report was omitted, and the report was accepted as published. The Treasurer's Report was submitted to the Auditing Committee by the Treasurer, Dr. E. E. Dale.

The Editor of the Proceedings, Dr. James L. Dale, reported that Volume 18 of the Proceedings cost approximately \$10 per page and emphasized the need for authors to hold the size of articles to a minimum in order that as many as possible of the papers submitted could be published with the existing budget. He also pointed out that submission of the paper in form suitable for publication, promptly upon presentation at the meetings would greatly expedite publication and permit the Editorial Board to release the Proceedings at a much earlier date than it has in the past.

The Secretary reported that while the Academy was not in financial difficulty at the present time, such problems could be expected as our expenditures for the Proceedings exceeded our income last year and the overhead from the NFS grants would be substantially reduced in the coming year. After considerable discussion, it was moved by Dr. J. P. Fulton and seconded by Dr. D. A. Slack that regular membership dues be increased from \$3 per year to \$5 per year and that the Published by Arkansas Academy of Science, 1963

## Arkansas Academy of Science Proceedings

sustaining membership dues be increased from \$5 per year to \$10 per year. The motion passed. The Secretary was instructed to notify the membership of this increase and to acknowledge sustaining memberships in an appropriate manner.

A letter to the Academy requesting its endorsement of issuing a commemorative stamp to mark the 100th anniversary of the law to permit use of the metric system in the United States was read to the membership. The President was instructed to send the letter of endorsement.

The President asked the membership to consider the future relationship of the Academy to the Valley Education and Research Foundation and be prepared to discuss at the next business meeting the desirability of co-sponsoring our annual meeting with the Foundation.

Dr. Bailey appointed the following ad hoc committees:

Nominations	Dr. J. P. Fulton Dr. E. B. Wittlake Dr. S. Siegel
Auditing	Dr. Clarence Sinclair Dr. Victor Hoff
Meeting Place for 1966	Mr. M. L. Lawson Mr. E. C. Mayes Dr. J. H. Fribourgh

There being no further new business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:30 a.m.

The second business meeting was called to order by President Bailey at 1:30 p.m., April 3, with 36 members present.

The minutes of the first business meeting were read.

#### COMMITTEE REPORTS

The Nominating Committee presented the following slate: President-Elect — Dr. Howard Moore; Secretary — Dr. George Templeton; Treasurer — Dr. Victor Hoff.

The motion was made by Dr. Wills and seconded by Dr. Sears that the slate of officers presented by the nominating Committee be elected. They were elected by acclamation.

Dr. Sinclair reported that the Auditing Committee had examined the financial records of the Academy and were satisfied that they are correct and in order.

Mr. Lawson reported for the Committee on a meeting place for https://scholarworks.calkibati/jthe/vijftights//nniversary meeting of the Academy 2

## Arkansas Academy of Science Proceedings

be held in Little Rock with Little Rock University as the host institution. Dr. Ronald McGehee seconded the motion and the motion passed.

Dr. Lyle Thompson moved that the Committee on Meeting Places be instructed not to consider an institution for a meeting site if it was under censorship by the American Association of University Professors. Dr. Bill Guest seconded the motion and the motion failed.

President Bailey asked for an expression of sentiment regarding the co-sponsorship of our annual meeting with the Valley Educational and Research Foundation.

There was a lengthy discussion. Considerable concern was expressed as to whether the aims and objectives of the Foundation fall within the scope or are directed to the same end as those of the Academy.

It was decided that the Executive Committee be given the authority to co-sponsor the annual Academy meeting with the Foundation on a trial basis for one more year.

The following committee of AAAS Fellows was appointed by the President to nominate other Arkansas Academy of Science members to Fellows in the American Association for Advancement of Science: Dr. D. M. Moore, Dr. J. W. Sears, Dr. P. M. Johnston, and Dr. I. A. Wills.

Dr. Bailey expressed appreciation to Dr. Bill Guest for the work of the local Arrangements Committee and directed the Secretary to write letters of appreciation to Dr. David W. Mullins for use of the facilities of the University and to Mr. Bill Shepherd for the aid in obtaining John Glenn as a speaker for the Academy and for co-sponsorship of the meeting.

Dr. Bailey turned over the gavel to Dr. Fribourgh who adjourned the meeting at 2:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, George E. Templeton Secretary