# Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science

Volume 18 Article 3

1964

# 48th Annual Meeting, 1964. Secretary's Report

**Academy Editors** 

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas

### **Recommended Citation**

Editors, Academy (1964) "48th Annual Meeting, 1964. Secretary's Report," *Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science*: Vol. 18, Article 3.

Available at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas/vol18/iss1/3

This article is available for use under the Creative Commons license: Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-ND 4.0). Users are able to read, download, copy, print, distribute, search, link to the full texts of these articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without asking prior permission from the publisher or the author. This Arkansas Academy Annual Meeting report is brought to you for free and open access by ScholarWorks@UARK. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science by an authorized editor of ScholarWorks@UARK. For more information, please contact scholar@uark.edu, uarepos@uark.edu.

## ARKANSAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

Forty-eighth Annual Meeting Arkansas State Teachers College April 17 - 18, 1964

#### **OFFICERS**

President	Dwight M. Moore
President-elect	Lowell F. Bailey
Secretary	R. Reece Corey
Treasurer	Edward E. Dale

### SECRETARY'S REPORT

The first business meeting was called to order by President Moore at 10:45 A. M. with 42 members in attendance. The members were welcomed by Mr. Charles R. Teeter, Director of Development, Arkansas State Teachers College.

As the Secretary's Report was already published in the Proceedings, reading of the report was omitted, and the report was accepted as published. The Treasurer's Report was submitted to the Auditing Committee by Treasurer E. E. Dale.

The Secretary reported that the Academy had received two grants for the fiscal year 1965 from the National Science Foundation, one in the amount of \$7070.00 for the Visiting Scientist Program and the other of \$2827.00 for the Junior Academy Program.

The Secretary reported a communication from the Secretary of the University of Arkansas chapter, American Association of University Professors, which suggested that the Academy make it a policy to refrain from meeting on the campuses of institutions on the AAUP list of censure. The Secretary reported that the recommendation of the Executive Committee was: That the proposal not be considered. We do not wish to pass upon the merits of the proposal, but we feel that the proposal is not feasible for the Academy to consider. A motion to sustain the action of the Executive Committee was made by Dr. Brown. The motion was seconded and carried.

# Arkansas Academy of Science Proceedings

The Secretary reported that while the Academy was not in financial difficulties at the present time, such problems could be expected as our expenditures for the Proceedings exceeded our income last year. Possible remedies were listed such as: increased dues, sustaining members, and page charges for excess journal pages. A spirited discussion ensued, in which Dr. Clayton suggested the possibility of an increased reprint charge. A motion was made by Dr. Paulissen and seconded by Dr. Wills that a class of sustaining memberships at \$5.00 be established for this year. The motion was passed. A motion was made by Dr. Bailey and seconded that the Secretary be empowered to find a membership chairman to conduct a membership campaign.

Dr. Moore appointed the following ad hoc committees.

Nominations:

R. W. Shideler, Chairman I. A. Wills H. L. Bogan

Auditing:

D. Brown, Chairman K. W. Scott

Meeting Place:

A. A. Johnson, Chairman T. J. Paulissen

Resolutions:

W. C. Munn, Chairman O. Myers

Dr. Moore stated that the Collegiate Academy had requested the "Senior" Academy to furnish three judges to evaluate papers presented to the Collegiate Academy. Howard Moore. N. D. Buffaloe, and M. L. Lawson were appointed by Dr. Moore.

There being no further new business the meeting was adjourned at 11:30 A. M.

The second business meeting was called to order by President Moore at 1:30 P. M., April 18, with 36 members present. The minutes of the first business meeting were read.

Committee Reports. The Nominating Committee presented the following slate: President-elect, J. H. Fribourgh.

The motion was made by Dr. Shideler and seconded by Dr. Sears that the slate of officers presented by the Nominating Committee be elected. Dr. Fribourgh was elected by acclamation.

Dr. Brown reported that the Auditing Committee was satisfied that the funds are correct and in order, that the Auditing Committee recommend during the 1964-65 fiscal year that the National Science Foundation grant funds be placed in a separate account.

Dr. Myers reported for the Resolutions Committee.

## April 18, 1964

"Be it resolved that the Arkansas Academy of Science in its 48th Annual Meeting at Arkansas State Teachers College, Conway, express its appreciation for the gracious hospitality extended by the administration and faculty of Arkansas State Teachers College in providing the excellent and comfortable facilities for our meetings.

"Secondly, we wish to commend the program and arrangement committees for the smoothly organized programs and services furnished, and in the excellent coordination of the activities of the "Senior," Collegiate, and Junior Academies of Science, along with the Science Fair.

"Be it further resolved that we express our appreciation by a letter written by our secretary to Dr. R. T. Clark for his stimulating lecture.

"We also wish to commend the following for the services faithfully and efficiently rendered: all of the officers of the past year; Dr. James L. Dale for editing of the Proceedings; Mr. Robert T. Kirkwood for directing the program of the Arkansas State Science Fair; Mrs. Florence McCormick for sponsoring the Junior Academy; Dr. Wilbur W. Everette and Dr. J. W. Sears for sponsoring the Collegiate Academy."

Respectfully submitted: Oval Myers, Jr. W. C. Munn

The list of resolutions was adopted unanimously. Old business. None New business. None

It was moved by Dr. Shideler and seconded, that Dr. Lowell F. Bailey be recognized as the new president for the ensuing year. The motion passed unanimously. The gavel was turned over to President Bailey by retiring President Moore. With no further business the meeting was adjourned at 2:15 P. M.

Respectfully submitted, R. Reece Corey Secretary