Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science

Volume 17 Article 3

1963

47th Annual Meeting, 1963. Secretary's Report

Academy Editors

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas

Recommended Citation

Editors, Academy (1963) "47th Annual Meeting, 1963. Secretary's Report," *Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science*: Vol. 17, Article 3.

Available at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas/vol17/iss1/3

This article is available for use under the Creative Commons license: Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-ND 4.0). Users are able to read, download, copy, print, distribute, search, link to the full texts of these articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without asking prior permission from the publisher or the author. This Arkansas Academy Annual Meeting report is brought to you for free and open access by ScholarWorks@UARK. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science by an authorized editor of ScholarWorks@UARK. For more information, please contact scholar@uark.edu, uarepos@uark.edu.

ARKANSAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

Forty-seventh Annual Meeting Hendrix College April 5-6, 1963

OFFICERS

President	Robert W. Shideler
President-elect	Dwight M. Moore
Secretary	R. Reece Corey
Treasurer	Edward E. Dale

SECRETARY'S REPORT

The first business meeting was called to order by President Shideler at 11:00 A.M., April 5, 1963 with 31 members in attendance. The members of the academy and its affiliated groups were welcomed to Hendrix College by Dr. William C. Buthman, Academic Dean.

The Secretary's Report, read by Sec. R. R. Corey, was accepted as read. The Treasurer's Report was submitted to the Auditing Committee by Treas. E. E. Dale. Dr. James Dale presented a verbal Editor's Report concerning the Proceedings. The Secretary reported that AAAS Research Grants of \$50.00 each were awarded to:

Mr. Billy Boykin Miss Jer Jacksonville High School Jacksonv Jacksonville, Arkansas Jacksonv

Miss Jerry Lou Nicholson Jacksonville High School Jacksonville, Arkansas

President Shideler appointed the following ad hoc committees.

Nominations: H. L. Bogan, Chairman

W. W. Everett J. R. Mundie

Auditing: Mrs. Virginia Kirk, Chair-

man

Curtis C. Love

Meeting Place: Neal D. Buffaloe, Chairman

Joe Guenter

Charles C. Smith
Resolutions: Truman McEver, Chairman

Mrs. Ruth Armstrong

I. A. Wills

Arkansas Academy of Science Proceedings

Old business. President Shideler reported no progress on an outstanding science teachers award.

New business. None.

With no further business the meeting was adjourned at 11:30 A.M.

The second business meeting was called to order by President Shideler at 1:30 P.M., April 6, with 43 members present. Treas. E. E. Dale was appointed Secretary pro tem in the absence of the secretary. The audited Treasurer's report was read and accepted.

Committee reports. The Nominating Committee pre-

sented the following slate for officers:

President-elect Secretary Treasurer Editor

Lowell F. Bailey R. R. Corey E. E. Dale J. L. Dale

The motion was made by Mr. Bogan, that the slate of officers presented by the Nominating Committee be elected. The motion was seconded and passed.

Dr. Curtis C. Love reported for the Auditing Committee, in the absence of the Chairman Mrs. Kirk, that the Treasurer's

books had been audited and accepted.

Dr. Buffaloe presented the report of the Meeting Place Committee that a decision on the meeting place had not been made and requested that the decision be deferred for about a month because: (1) meeting can not be at the University of Arkansas next year due to the building program, (2) a central location in the state is preferable, possibly Little Rock, but a survey would need to be made for the exact location. The motion was made, seconded, and passed, that the committee be allowed delay in selecting a meeting place.

Dr. Wills reported for the Resolutions Committee in the

absence of the Chairman, Mr. McEver.

Resolutions, Arkansas Academy of Science. Hendrix College, Conway, Arkansas April 6, 1963

"Be it resolved that the Arkansas Academy of Science in its Forty-seventh Annual Meeting at Hendrix College, Conway, express its appreciation for the gracious hospitality and courtesies extended by the administration and faculty of Hendrix College in furnishing the excellent, convenient, comfortable facilities for our meetings.

"Secondly, we desire to commend the program and arrangement committees along with the many students of Hendrix College for the smoothly organized programs and services 2

https://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas/vol17/iss1/3

furnished, and in the excellent coordination of all the activities of the Senior, Collegiate, and Junior Academies of Science along with the Science Fair. We especially wish to commend the officers and program committee in the carrying out of the directive concerning the suggested change of arrangements in the organization of the activities of all the various groups and sections.

"Be it further resolved that we express our appreciation by a letter written by our secretary to Dr. Matt L. Ellis for the stimulating and scholarly address given to the academy at its banquet. Likewise we wish to express our thanks to Dr. Dwight L. Moore for the compilation and presentation of the

"History of the Arkansas Academy of Science."

"We also wish to commend the following for the services faithfully and efficiently rendered. All the officers of the past year. Dr. James Dale for the editing of the Proceedings. Dr. Lowell F. Bailey and Mr. Robert Berry for the sponsoring of the Arkansas State Science Fair. Mrs. Sally Lee Hines for sponsoring the Junior Academy. Dr. Arthur Johnson for the sponsoring of the Collegiate Academy."

Respectfully submitted:

Truman McEver Irvin A. Wills Ruth Armstrong

The resolutions were adopted unanimously.

Pres. Shideler called attention to two changes for the coming year: Mr. Robert Kirkwood as the new Science Fair Director replacing Mr. Berry, and Mrs. Florence McCormick as the Junior Academy Sponsor replacing Mrs. Hines.

Old business. None.

New business. Dr. Shideler requested suggestions concerning the schedule of the meetings. It was suggested that the first business meeting be started later in the morning. It was further suggested that a dues collector be appointed for each college. That the call for dues should be January 1 rather than March 1 with a reminder of arrears to be sent out May 1. Mr. Bogan stated that he wished to go on record as recommending that the list of paid members be continued to be sent out with the dues notice.

The motion of Dr. Buffaloe, that the secretary be instructed to send statements to those in arrears, was seconded and passed.

An additional suggestion was presented that the list of papers to be presented at the meeting be prepared far enough Published by Arkansas Academy of Science, 1963

in advance that it could be sent to the members prior to the

meeting.

It was moved by Mr. Bogan and seconded by Dr. Sears, that Dr. Dwight Moore be recognized as new President for the ensuing year. The motion passed unanimously. The gavel was turned over to Dr. Moore by retiring President Shideler, Dr. Moore thus becoming the thirty-first as well as the first president of the reorganized academy.

Dr. Moore in his capacity as permanent historian presented verbally the "History of the Arkansas Academy of Science." With no further business the meeting adjourned at 2:30

P.M.

Respectfully submitted, R. Reece Corey Secretary