Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science

Volume 15 Article 3

1961

45th Annual Meeting, 1961. Secretary's Report

Academy Editors

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas

Recommended Citation

Editors, Academy (1961) "45th Annual Meeting, 1961. Secretary's Report," *Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science*: Vol. 15, Article 3.

Available at: https://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas/vol15/iss1/3

This article is available for use under the Creative Commons license: Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-ND 4.0). Users are able to read, download, copy, print, distribute, search, link to the full texts of these articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without asking prior permission from the publisher or the author. This Arkansas Academy Annual Meeting report is brought to you for free and open access by ScholarWorks@UARK. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science by an authorized editor of ScholarWorks@UARK. For more information, please contact scholar@uark.edu, uarepos@uark.edu.

ARKANSAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

Forty-fifth Annual Meeting University of Arkansas April 14-15, 1961

OFFICERS

President Herman L. Bogan President-Elect . . Truman McEver R. Reece Corey Robert S. Fairchild

SECRETARY'S REPORT

The first business meeting was called to order by President Herman Bogan at 11:00 A.M., April 14, 1961, with 33 members present. Dr. Robert Willard welcomed the academy and its affiliated groups to the campus of the University of Arkansas. 6 JUL 12 1962

The Secretary's Report, read by Dr. Corey, was accepted. No Treasurer's Report was given as the Treasurer was absent due to illness. Dr. Noyce, as Editor-in-Chief, called attention to the editorial policy requiring papers to be submitted for publication at the time of presentation, and he called a meeting of the Editorial Board for 4:30 P.M., after the section meetings.

The Secretary reported that AAAS research grants of \$25.00 were awarded to:

Ronald G. Embry 3106 Oak Grove Street Fort Smith, Arkansas

Larry I. Newton 547 South Garfield Street Piggott, Arkansas

Martha Moore University of Arkansas Fayetteville, Arkansas

Jim Porter University of Arkansas Fayetteville, Arkansas

The special award for meritorious High School students was given to Steve Douglas, 3623 Marshall Drive, Fort Smith, Arkansas.

ARKANSAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

President Bogan announced that the report of the Committee to study Science Education in Arkansas would be given as a part of the program of the Education Section. President Bogan announced that the National Science Foundation had renewed its grant of support to the Visiting Scientist Program of the Academy, and he briefly explained how the program, which is administered by Dr. Keesee, operates.

President Bogan appointed several ad hoc committees.

Nominations: Sam Siegel, Chairman, D. R. Albin,

and Dwight Moore.

Auditing: W. P. Boyer, Chairman, and Francis

Clayton.

Meeting Place: R. W. Shideler, Chairman, W. J.

Broach, and Neil Fulton.

Resolutions: Charles C. Smith, Chairman, K. R.

Walker, and D. W. Mathews.

Dr. Paulissen stated that winners of the Arkansas Science Talent Search have in the past been awarded a subscription to Science News Letter and the equivalent of a round trip bus fare from their home to the meeting site, and he moved that these awards be made annually on a continuing basis. The motion carried.

President Bogan announced that the President of the Arkansas Academy of Science had been invited to attend the installation of President Mullins of the University of Arkansas on April 24. He announced that either the President or President elect would attend depending on the circumstances.

Upon recommendation of the Executive Committee the possibility of combining the offices of secretary and treasurer was explored. A motion to this effect was made by Dr. Bailey with second by Dr. Fry. After discussion the motion was withdrawn.

Dr. Fry brought up the question of whether the Treasurer is now or should be bonded, considering the amount of funds required by the Visiting Science Program. Dr. Noyce suggested the matter be referred to Dr. Keesee.

With no further business the meeting was adjourned at 11:55 A.M.

The second business meeting was called to order by President Herman Bogan at 9:55 A.M. April 15, with 31 members present.

Dr. Amis moved that all new members be accepted. The motion carried.

Dr. McCarty brought up the question of whether the Academy

and the Science Fair should be held on separate dates. Dr. Howick moved, and Dr. McCarty seconded, that a committee be appointed to study the feasibility of the Academy and the Science Fair meeting at different dates or places. A committee of Mr. Berry, Dr. Pryor, and Miss Reid was appointed.

Dr. Wills reported on the activities of the Collegiate Acad-

emy.

As chairman of the Meeting Place Committee, Dr. Shideler moved that the next meeting be held at Harding College with the date to be set subsequently. Tentative acceptance for Harding College was given by Dr. Sears.

Dr. Bailey moved that the President commend Alpha Chi Sigma and Sigma Phi Sigma for their assistance with the Sci-

ence Fair.

The Nominating Committee presented the following slate for officers:

Editor W. K. Noyce
Treasurer E. E. Dale
Secretary R. R. Corey
President-elect R. W. Shideler

A motion that the slate be accepted was made by Dr. Amis. The motion carried.

As chairman of the Nominating Committee, Dr. Siegel moved that President-elect McEver be confirmed as President. The motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Amis moved, with Dr. Shideler's second, that a post of Historian be established, and that Dr. Dwight Moore be elected Historian. The motion was carried.

A motion by Dr. Bailey to have the Publicity Committee continued was carried. Dr. Sears was reappointed as Publicity Chairman.

With no further business the meeting was adjourned at 10:45 $A.\,M.$

Respectfully submitted,

R. Reece Corey Secretary