Document Type

Technical Report

Publication Date



Arkansas river, Dredging


The Arkansas River extends for 1,450 miles from the eastern slopes of the Rocky Mountains in Colorado, southeasterly through Kansas, Oklahoma, and Arkansas, where it enters the Mississippi River in Desha County. The 448 mile navigation channel which was constructed on the lower portion of this river includes portions of two of its major tributaries, the Verdigris River in Oklahoma and the lower White River in Arkansas. The Arkansas portion of this navigation system consists of three different segments: (1) the lower White River, from its confluence with the Mississippi River to 10 miles upstream, (2) the Arkansas Post Canal, a ninemile, man-made structure connecting the White River with the Arkansas River, and (3) the main Arkansas River from its juncture with the Arkansas Post Canal at navigation mile 19, upstream to Fort Smith.

Report Number